Skip to content

boston’s taste of the nation 2011

April 14, 2011

I’m more likely to roll my eyes at the price tag of our weekly Whole Paycheck runs than to simply appreciate how fortunate I am to be in a position to be standing at that counter to begin with. Of course, with that said, I realize how lucky I am that I’ve never had to worry about where my next meal will come from.

When I think of hunger, I’m more likely to think about our trips to places like Cambodia rather than think of the U.S., and for that very reason that Share Our Strength plays such an incredible role as a national non-profit determined to end childhood hunger in the U.S. And while the irony of stuffing my face silly for this cause was not lost on me, Mr. KC and I happily attended Boston’s Taste of the Nation and enjoyed chatting with some of Boston’s most notable restaurants while eating some really fun food.

 

What was really fun was to see several of our favorite local restaurants. When Mr. KC and I moved back to Boston, we took an apartment in Davis Square and have since fallen in love with the area (full neighborhood tour to come soon) and in a city with really great restaurants, it was impressive to see how many of our neighbors had stands– KickAss Cupcakes, Redbones BBQ, Posto and possibly another that slips my mind as I recover from my food coma.

You had me at mojito cupcake

Tickets aren’t cheap, going for $90/head for general admission (but you can generally find a 20% coupon online for most events), but all proceeds go to Share our Strength. So, rather than dropping that money on dinner and drinks, consider this philanthropy with dinner and drinks (did I mention the wine flows heavily?). You eat well, drink well, have fun and play a part in ending childhood hunger in America. Check out Share our Strength’s site for upcoming events and get your tickets now. But do yourself a favor…skip lunch that day. You’ll thank me. Until then, I’ll just leave you more photos of the food I gorged myself on.

 

No comments yet

Leave a comment