Skip to content

white chili

January 11, 2010

I consider this to be one of my staple dishes.  The dish that I can make over and over again and virtually never get sick of.  The dish that is synonymous with a cold, snowy night in.

I first had this at a friend’s place for a group dinner.  Perfect for a large group and a cold, Boston evening.  She shared the recipe and the next week I was in the grocery store looking for the ingredients.  I was having a few people over for a casual dinner and thought I would try this out.

I clumsily read “chopped green chilies” and looked in the aisles for the corresponding item. Chopped jalapeño chilies?  Jalapeños are green, that’ll work.  Well, the dish I liked went to the dish I loved.  Cheese and sour cream on top of this were no longer an option, but a tool necessary for spicy survival.  With this said, if spicy ain’t your thing, look for the REAL chopped green chilies, which add a nice flavor, but nearly none of the bite.  For the in-between version.  1/2 chopped green chilies, 1/2 jalapeño.

I use grated Gruyère as my topping, but I can see Monterey jack being fantastic as well.  Serve with a warm, crusty loaf of bread and you’ve got yourself your next snow day dinner.

White Chili
adapted from a friend’s recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 tsp lemon pepper
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 tsp salts
  • 1 tsp Lawry’s or other seasoned salt)
  • 1 tsp chopped garlic (2 medium sized cloves)
  • 1 medium onion chopped
  • 3 cans great northern beans, drained and rinsed(cannellini beans work fine as a substitute)
  • 4 chicken breasts (1.5-2lbs)
  • 1 1/4 water
  • 1 cube of chicken bouillon
  • 2 small cans diced jalapeño peppers (see note for “heat” adjustment)
  • sour cream (optional)
  • shredded cheese (optional)
  • olive oil

Directions:

  1. Boil chicken breasts–once cooked, shred.  This generally takes about 15 minutes.
  2. In a stockpot (or any deep pot), sauté onion and garlic in a bit of olive oil (about 1-2 tbsp)
  3. Add everything else.
  4. Simmer for at least 20 minutes. I generally aim to let it simmer for about 40 minutes. I’m convinced that it allows the flavors to saturate better.
  5. Garnish with sour cream and shredded cheese.
  6. Serve with warm, crusty baguette.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rochonne Simmons permalink
    January 14, 2010 3:40 pm

    Going to use your receipe for my son’s school chili cook off. Will call it the klutzychef white chili. Will let you know if it places. I think it will! 🙂

    • January 14, 2010 7:32 pm

      Oh boy–a cook-off?! That’s a lot of pressure, but hopefully it will work out well. Definitely keep me posted.

Leave a comment