Skip to content

meatless monday: fava bean and mushroom farfalle

April 18, 2011

I didn’t think it would happen, but spring has come. At least, so it would seem. After the cruel and unusual winter that we had here in Boston, I’m nervous to write those words. Perhaps the weather fates will hear me and bring back the snow. Perhaps saying it aloud means that winter will make one more appearance. I really hope not. I honestly don’t think I could handle it.

To celebrate the fact that the snow has finally melted and I can see things like…the ground, I’ve been buying up spring cooking magazines like it’s my part time job. This one came from the latest issue of Cooking Light. I love me some fava beans and as you’ll see over the next few recipes I am in the midst of a love affair with mascarpone cheese–this recipe was calling me. I made a few adjustments for a few reasons:

  • I couldn’t find fresh fava beans, so I went with a package of shelled cooked beans that I found in Whole Foods.
  • Morel mushroom are e-x-p-e-n-s-i-v-e and since this little piggy wants to buy a new home, she can’t be droppin’ $20/lb on fungus. Fresh shiitake mushrooms it is!
  • Because I apparently suffer from a chronic inability to read  through an entire recipe before starting, I was caught off guard when I read that I was going to need the mushroom “water” the morels steep in. I panicked and substituted white wine–loved it. Of course, this only encourages bad habits.
  • Cayenne pepper kicks everything up a notch, this is no exception. I love bringing a little unexpected heat into recipes.
  • Forgot to pick up marjoram or thyme, so I used garlic chives I had lying around…worked really well. Feel free to just use chives or any herb you’ve got around.
Fava bean and mushroom farfalle
recipe adapted from Cooking Light

Ingredients
  • 1 cup liquid (1/2 cup white wine, 1/2 cup pasta water)
  • 1 1/2 cups shelled fava beans (about 1 1/2 pounds unshelled)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped onion (1 small onion)
  • 1 cup fresh shiitake mushrooms, coarsely chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 tablespoon chopped garlic chives or just plain chives
  • 8 ounces uncooked farfalle (bow tie pasta)
  • 1 tablespoon kosher salt
  • 1/3 cup (about 3 ounces) mascarpone cheese
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • Scant 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
Directions
  1. If using freshly shelled fava beans, place beans in a large pot of boiling water; cook 40 seconds. Drain; rinse with cold water. Drain well. Remove tough outer skins from beans.
  2. Start cooking pasta in salted water.
  3. While pasta is cooking, heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add oil to pan, swirling to coat. Add onion to pan; sauté 3 minutes or until tender. Add fresh mushrooms and garlic; sauté 2 minutes.
  4. “Borrow” about a half cup of water from your boiling pasta, add the 1/2 cup wine to create your liquid reserve.
  5. Add mushrooms, reserved liquid, fava beans, salt, pepper, and cayenne. Cook until liquid reduces to 1/2 cup (about 5 minutes).
  6. Add mascarpone, garlic chives and drained pasta.
  7. Serve with garnish of pinch of cayenne and parmigiano.
One Comment leave one →
  1. April 19, 2011 1:16 am

    Great flavours for a comfort meal.
    🙂 Mandy

Leave a Reply

