Skip to content

please forgive me (aka sticky toffee pudding)

April 12, 2011

Almost 3 months ago, I posted that I was taking a knee for a little while. I didn’t know what a little while would end up being and I certainly never intended it to be almost 3 months. 3 weeks? Maybe. 3 months? That’s blog suicide.

And then I received emails and comments from people like you reading this blog encouraging me to get back to writing–thank you. This blog started sometime ago as little more than a means of me keeping closer track of my recipes and a fun little way of documenting our travel. I forget from time to time that there are people “out there” actually reading this, hopefully enjoying this, and even missing the posts when they don’t come.

And while I can’t say I’ve found my zen quite yet, I promise that KC was never far from my mind. I took photos, kept notes and now it’s just a matter of making sense of all of it. I even racked my brain for an idea of how to make it up to you.

It would have to be sweet.
It would need to be sinful.
It would have to be one of those dishes that leave people cleaning their plates with their finger.

KC confession: I made this at Christmas. It came after a shamefully large dinner and everyone still cleaned their plates. So, as my entry back to the world of blogging, I leave you with this. A dessert that immediately made its way to KC favorite status.

tiny sticky toffee pudding
from a frankenstein of recipes from Nigella

ingredients

cake

  • Butter, for baking dish plus 1/4 cup, melted
  • Scant 1/3 cup dark brown sugar, packed
  • 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons self-rising flour
  • 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons finely chopped, pitted dates

sauce

  • 200g or 1 cup white sugar
  • 200g or 14 tbsps of unsalted butter
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 200ml or 7/8 cp  cream

directions

  1. Chop pitted dates and set aside.
  2. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.
  3. Butter and flour 6 ramekins.
  4. Combine the sugar with the flour in a large bowl.
  5. Pour the milk into a measuring cup, beat in the egg, vanilla and melted butter.
  6. Pour mixture over the sugar and flour, stirring with a wooden spoon to combine.
  7. Fold in the dates.
  8. Evenly distribute batter among ramekins Don’t worry if they don’t look full; cakes will rise.
  9. Bake for 10-12 minutes.
  10. Test after 10 minutes using a toothpick–you want the toothpick to come out clean.
  11. Remove ramekins when ready allow to cool while you make the sauce.
  12. In a pan on the stove put the butter and sugar, let it melt. Bring to boiling point whisking continuously, the mixture will start to caramelize.
  13. The mixture will go from a white gold color to a nutty brown one.
  14. Remove from heat and pour in lemon juice. This will cause the whole thing to bubble up, so be careful.
  15. Have the cream close by and add, continuing to whisk
  16. NOTE: If the sauce seizes up (and this has happened to me in the past), put mixture back on a low flame and keep stirring. Eventually, it melts down again and you’re left with a lovely sauce.
  17. Remove the cakes from ramekins and flip upside down onto plate.
  18. Cover with butterscotch sauce.
11 Comments leave one →
  1. Jaime permalink
    April 12, 2011 11:31 pm

    Welcome back! This looks just as good as it tasted, I can’t wait to try my hand at it. Yummy.

  2. April 13, 2011 12:56 am

    Great to see a post from you again and what a start – yummy!
    🙂 Mandy

    • April 13, 2011 11:31 am

      Thank you for the warm welcome back–helps keep the motivation levels high to keep at it!

  3. April 13, 2011 1:26 am

    Just a quick question on the directions. It’s chop the dates and cover.. cover with what? Maybe I’m missing something 🙂

    • April 13, 2011 11:30 am

      The only thing you were missing was the context of me writing and talking at the same time. Apparently not something I should try again in the future 🙂 I’ve updated that line to avoid confusion.
      You don’t need to cover your dates, although, I have seen recipes that soak the dates in a tbsp of baking soda and hot water for a few minutes and then pureeing before adding. This isn’t one of those recipes, but if you prefer to not have chunks of dates in your batter, it’s worth considering. Consider the recipe updated!

  4. April 13, 2011 10:10 am

    Looks delicious.

    Sticky Toffee Pudding with Caramel Sauce is one of my favourite desserts.

    Ann

    • April 13, 2011 11:34 am

      Same here! Honestly, I just don’t understand how it’s possible that so much goodness gets crammed into such a little cake.

  5. April 14, 2011 12:23 am

    I missed you!!! More meatless Monday! More delicious photographs! yay!

    • April 14, 2011 4:08 pm

      You’re too sweet! Thanks for the warm welcome back, already lining up the meatless mondays…

  6. April 14, 2011 9:06 am

    So glad you’re back.

    Do you remember what ‘self raising flour’ is called back here in Switzerland? When I go to Migros, I only seem to find one type, the sort which I use for flat pancakes and which doesn’t rise.

    • April 14, 2011 4:20 pm

      Oh man. Trying to remember. For some reason, I don’t remember Migros having them, but Coop did. I’ll try to see if I can figure out what they were called. With that said, I actually never bought any of my flour from either of them, but rather went to our Asian greengrocer who always had self raising flour along with other great goodies. If you can find a Thai or Indian food shop near you, it’s worth a peek.

      Alternatively, there’s always DIY. http://baking.about.com/cs/hintsandtips/ht/selfrisingflour.htm

Leave a Reply

