Skip to content

meatless monday: roasted corn with lime and manchego

August 22, 2011

While some might argue that the Chicago is not the Midwest, I would argue with that statement and take pride in my Midwestern stock. The proof is in my undying love for corn. Montauk, Silver Queen, Country Gentleman…love ’em all and this time of the year I’m happier than a pig in you-know-what. This weekend at the farmer’s market, I picked up 12 ears of corn. The guy helping me commented “Looks like someone’s having a party.” My response? “Nope, I’m just on a mission to eat so much corn, I’m sick of it for a good year.” He seemed to approve of the plan.

I’ve made this recipe twice in one week. The first time I made it, I literally RAN back into the kitchen to grab seconds. That’s how much I love it.  Bon Appetit is claiming lime the new salt. And while I’m not sure about that claim, I will say that this recipe makes me hungry for more just writing about it. Perhaps I should start a pool to see how many times I’ll make this for myself before the season comes to an end.

roasted corn with lime and manchego
slightly adapted from Bon Appetit August 2010 

ingredients:
 

  • 6 ears of sweet yellow corn, remove silk, but leave husks
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons (1/4 stick) unsalted butter
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 jalapeño, seeded, finely diced
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes, cayenne pepper or ground peperoncino (what I used)
  • 1 lime, (grate for lime zest first then cut into 4 wedges)
  • 1 cup finely grated Manchego cheese
  • 1/4 cup thinly sliced chives or green onions (which is all I had lying around)
  • 2 teaspoons finely grated lime zest

directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 450°. Roast unhusked corn on a baking sheet, turning occasionally, until heated through and crisp-tender, about 15 minutes.
  2. Let cool. Shuck corn and cut kernels from cobs. Discard cobs.
  3. Heat oil in a large skillet over high heat.
  4. Add corn kernels and sauté until heated through and light-golden in spots, 3-5 minutes.
  5. Add butter; stir until melted. Season to taste with salt and pepper.
  6. Transfer corn to a large wide bowl or deep platter; sprinkle jalapeño and crushed red pepper flakes (or other choice spicy spice) over.
  7. Squeeze lime wedges over; sprinkle with cheese, chives, and lime zest.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2011 5:17 am

    Gosh, your blog is just designed so well. I’m impressed!

  2. September 2, 2011 7:43 am

    Yum, this recipe look delish!

Leave a Reply

