Skip to content

kc goes to whim

August 17, 2011

In Switzerland, I had view like this out of my window.  It wasn’t fair, but it’s true. And it’s hard to believe that now the most exciting thing about my view is looking out to see that my neighbor finally decided to put on pants. Again, not fair, but true.

With that said, for as easy as it is to romanticize about our amazing, carefree, glamorous life in Switzerland, I have to always remind myself that we chose to leave. We were ready to leave. As beautiful as Switzerland was, it never was home for us. We missed out friends, our family and the ability to go to the butcher to ask for a cut of meat without being reduced to pointing to various parts of my body and making animal noises to get my point across. But, oh the landscape–how we miss it. Last week, Mr. KC with a couple of friends, decided to try to recapture some of that landscape with a mid-week city escape to a farm dinner at Smolak Farms.

It’s a haul from Boston, don’t let that fool you. And as your GPS starts showing you curiously close to your destination, for a split second you wonder if perhaps the farm is in the middle of an office park. But miraculously, the area gets greener faster and before you know it, you’re pulling down an unpaved road and being guided into a parking lot which is really just a field with ropes around it, but you go with it because you should always trust a man with a flashlight.

Then, I get giddy because a dinner that involves a chalkboard is always a good sign.

And a dinner that involves tikki torches and a lovely outdoor tent only adds to that excitement.

Flowers in mason jars? It’s like this place reads my diary that doesn’t exist.

Adirondack chairs and campfires? Pinch me, please.

And then everyone sits down to dinner. Everything up until now has just been an amazing way of getting you excited for what you just know is going to a celebration of amazing produce, meats and food. We were fortunate enough to sit right next to the chef’s workstation where I marvel at how it seems almost effortless that they dish  out a gourmet meal to 150 people seated outside using nothing more than a roaster and a grill.

And as we stuff our faces with food and drink wine, the sun sets, the twinkly lights come on and even though the social atmosphere is like that of a wedding where you don’t know a lot of people, it’s fun. You realize what a lovely escape from the city it is and that even though you don’t know these people, you share a love for food and that seems like enough for this evening.

Dinner winds down around 10 and ends in an optional hayride around the farm. We chose to finish our wine fireside instead. You’ll notice that I didn’t take any pictures of the food save the one photo of the lovely shortcakes awaiting distribution. Here’s the thing. In the interest of keeping it honest, the food wasn’t out of this world. You want it to be AH-mazing, but it’s good. I was happy that the steaks erred on the rarer side as opposed to the “safe” way of going well-done. But there were varying degrees of rareness and my friend and I had to switch because hers was way too rare. The soup was corn consommé and while it seems to be popular in the gastronomic circles, it wasn’t wow-worthy. But these dinner aren’t just about the food. It’s everything coming together. And the truth of the matter is the food was good. I wouldn’t rave about it if it were served to me in a restaurant, but the fact that every single person who left, did so with a huge smile on their face and a look of utter satisfaction is enough for this gal to rave about it.

The Whim series is winding down for this year with only two dinners left, tonight and next Wednesday. Tickets can be purchased through GiltCity.

That's not the sun setting, that would be the lights of Boston glowing in the distance.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2011 10:31 am

    That dinner sounds DELIGHTFUL. Everything is so beautiful! I love flowers in mason jars. My favorite restaurant puts flowers on every table in Topo Chico bottles… so adorable.

    • August 17, 2011 3:49 pm

      Confession: I had to google “topo chico” to figure out what you’re talking about and they’re adorable. And based on the reviews on Amazon sounds like it’s an amazing product. I know we won’t carry it in Boston, but I’ll have to take a look next time I’m in Chicago.

  2. August 17, 2011 3:51 pm

    lovely! sometimes a dinner is about the place and the atmosphere, not necessarily fantastic food. But yes, the food needs to at least be good!

    • August 17, 2011 5:43 pm

      Couldn’t agree more! Wines that I think are the BEST wines in the world were actually just that wonderful because I was drinking them outside in Italy or something. They’re good, of course, outside of that context, but dinner is a lot like theater, you don’t go just for the show, but the environment, the audience, everything. One day when I’m less cheap, I’d like to try the Outstanding in the Field series. Until then, I’ll make another reservation at Whim for sure.

Leave a Reply

