Skip to content

meatless monday for mikey (aka peanut butter chocolate pie)

August 15, 2011

I should start by saying that I don’t know the man who inspired this recipe nor his wife, Jennie who posted it. In fact, I’m ashamed to say I wasn’t even a regular at her blog before this weekend, when I logged into my Google Reader and started to wonder what kind of coincidence would result in so many people making the same pie. And then I saw Jennie’s post, I teared up. Then I saw the video made for her, and the tearing up became a full-grown weep. Food is already such an amazing way to bring people together that it seemed all too appropriate for that many people to show their support for this strong woman through a pie.

My heart goes out to Jennie and her daughters. And while the original request was for this to be done on Friday, I was (as always) late.  I won’t post the recipe here, because in my opinion the recipe shouldn’t be separated from its original post, but I will say that it’s a wonderful pie that I enjoyed with my husband while thinking about how lucky I am and being grateful for all that I have. I hope you do the same.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2011 8:06 pm

    After reading the original post from Jennie…you contributed to a beautiful magical moment…of sharing this pie with the one you love…and giving gratitude.
    Friday obviously was a powerful day for Jennie, and your contribution giving her strength. She gives inspiration, and by sharing your post, I’ve now shared her strength and love. Thank you.x

    • August 15, 2011 11:21 pm

      Thanks, Yvette. When its powers are used for good, it seems this whole internet thing can be an incredible force.

Leave a Reply

