Skip to content

strawberry shortcake cake

August 3, 2011

Nothing says I’m sorry like a cake. I could give you any one of the following excuses for being a negligent blogger:

  • After what felt like an endless search for a new home, we found one, but our sub-par real estate agent made buying it like a second full-time job for us.
  • After moving into said place, the process of nesting meant more time for take-out than cooking.
  • I realized that since moving back to the States, the general pace of our life has quickened exponentially.

But that doesn’t mean I haven’t been cooking. I have. And I’ve even managed to remember to take pictures from time to time. I’m desperately trying to get back to a pace that allowed me to balance work, life, friends and hobbies, but the truth is that I’ve struggled immensely with it. Patience has never been my strongest virtue (see all previous kitchen mishaps that generally are rooted in my inability to wait for something) and I just want to fast forward to the point when the new home is fully decorated and my time is my own once again. Alas, I need to just slow down, enjoy the process and also remember to just take some time to enjoy the fleeting summer months. And while my posts may not be as regular as they once were, I have not abandoned this blog of  mine, I promise.

Now, confession time: would you believe me if I told you that I actually made this cake for mother’s day? Ohmy! That’s just how delinquent I am. But like, I said, nothing says I’m sorry like a cake and you can still find some strawberries here and there. But if you want to keep it really seasonal, substitute strawberries for some of those other amazing berries at your farmer’s market right now. I’m sure the results will be equally delicious. Also, instead of the icing, feel free to go with big globs of fresh whipped cream. Or even better, use both the icing AND the whipped cream. Now we’re talking.

strawberry shortcake cake

ingredients:

  • 1 box of moist yellow cake mix (I use Cherrybrook Kitchen Yellow Cake mix)
    • Eggs, oil, water (measurements will depend on what the directions of your cake mix call for)
  • 1 16 oz bag of frozen sliced strawberries in juice (I used whole strawberries and then sliced, but getting pre-sliced would make life much easier)
  • Confectioner’s sugar
  • Whole milk
  • 1-2 cartons of fresh strawberries (depends on how high you want to pile those strawberries)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract–go for quality here. I love Rancho Gordo’s vanilla.

directions

1.  Bake cake per box directions.
2.  In the meantime, defrost the frozen strawberries and put in a
bowl with its own juice.
3.  Wash and cut fresh strawberries in half length-wise.
4.  To make the icing, pour lots of confectioner’s sugar (I ended up using 2 cups–how much you use will entirely depend on how much icing you want) into a bowl and drizzle milk into it and add a few drops of vanilla extract.
5.  Whip icing with fork. It should be a thick consistency like that of fake maple syrup.
6.  When cake is done, allow to cool then carefully cut in half using a long bread knife so you now have a thin top and bottom half. You’ll notice I also cut off the edges. This had less to do with direction and more to do with the fact that I may have slightly burned the cake.
7.  Pour the strawberry juice on the bottom portion  of the cake (spongy side up) and let it seep for a few minutes.
8.  Arrange the defrosted strawberries on this bottom layer of the cake.

9.  Take the top piece (carefully!) and place it on top of the bottom layer.

10.  Arrange freshly sliced strawberries on top of the cake.

11.  Cut up any remaining strawberries in smaller pieces and fill in the spaces between the strawberry slices.
12.  Drizzle the icing over the whole cake with a fork. Be generous–no skimping here.
13.  Place cake in refrigerator and allow to cool and really soak in the juices and icing.
14.  Drizzle again with icing right before serving.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2011 9:19 am

    this looks delicious!!

    • August 5, 2011 9:48 am

      You can’t go wrong with strawberry, icing and cake. The best part is just how easy it is–unless you’re me and you burn the cake.

Leave a Reply

