Skip to content

omgwtfbbq

January 28, 2011
tags: ,

Urban dictionary defines omgwtfbbq as a “meaningless acronym which most often stands for ‘Oh My God What The F*** Barbeque’.  It can be interpreted simply as gibberish, or used when one wants to emphasize one’s own incoherence, lack of understanding, or to mock others.”

This has little to do with anything other than the fact that I found myself the other day wearing more layers than I ever have before, head wrapped so no part of my skin was exposed, walking to my office battling what felt like 90mph winds.  It was about halfway through this walk that I found myself screaming this meaningless acronym into my scarf that thankfully muffled most of the noise. Not sure why the need to scream this overcame me, I imagine much of it has to do with the fact that I think it’s funny, but also because at that very moment it seemed to be the only fitting way to express my frustration with this year’s brutal winter.

This was the storm that greeted us upon our return from Chicago in December. It feels like it hasn't stopped since.

I recognize that I’ve been somewhat of a slacker when it comes to posts.  I could give tons of excuses, but instead, I’ll simply regale you with tales of why I seem to find little time to blog these days.

We’re house hunting. And when I say house, I really mean over-priced, small condo hunting.  Apparently, Boston missed the memo that it’s supposed to be a buyer’s market and for a cool half-a-mill you get a fixer-upper.  Please note, I don’t have a cool half-a-mill so you can only imagine what I get.  Having trouble?  Allow me to help.

You get wood paneling and a house that comes with a roof that leaks blob images onto ceilings that hopefully one day will resemble the baby Jesus so that I can be famous and sell photos for lots of money.

I have been neck-deep in snow. Correction.  We’re officially buried.  With the latest arrival of over 12 inches, snow banks are taller than I am which is why I wear a bright orange coat. It serves the dual purpose of not getting shot by a deer hunter AND not getting hit by a car because they can’t see me getting ready to cross the street.

I’ve lost my zen. When preparing to move back to the U.S., I promised myself  I wouldn’t lose the work-life balance zen that I seemed to perfect in Switzerland. Work stayed at work, and I stayed at work only until about 6pm every night.  There was always plenty of time for making dinners, working out and still having an enjoyable evening. I’ve failed miserably at that, but am determined more than ever to regain that zen. It all starts with a vacation that we have scheduled for 2 weeks from now (Hawaii here we come!), but I promise everyone, I’ll get there. And when I do, KC will be back better than ever. Heck, I may even get around to updating my “about me” page to reflect that I don’t actually live in Switzerland any longer!

So, there we go. A little insight into our crazy world right now, but the promise of many new and wonderful recipes and trip reports to come. After all, I was gifted several wonderful cookbooks for Christmas and the results have been wonderful so far.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2011 4:27 pm

    Looks like Minnesota…..it just keeps snowing and snowing and snowing…..

  2. January 30, 2011 4:23 am

    I feel your angst of trying to find a new home, especially at the right price!
    I cannot comprehend what you say about the snow, firstly as we are currently living in Mauritius and winter here is like summer anywhere else and secondly, I have never been in the snow before.
    Wishing you happy house hunting and looking forward to hearing about your Hawaiian holiday.
    🙂 Mandy

  3. January 30, 2011 11:12 am

    Mandy–what’s getting me through the house hunt is the knowledge that one of these days, we’re going to wander into some place and say “This is it!”. I’m just REALLY looking forward to that day.

    Re: snow. I can’t believe you’ve never seen snow! There’s nothing like the first real snow of the year in this area of the world. Everything looks so pretty and white. And then the end of January comes and you curse the day you even decided to move back to some place further than an hour’s flight from the equator 🙂 Christmas-time in Vermont I think is the best place to check out your first snow.

  4. April 9, 2011 5:24 am

    Just to say that I am really missing your weekly recipes. Hope all is going well though, and looking forward to your hopefully speedy return as a blogger

    • April 9, 2011 11:06 am

      Hey Denise–that means a lot, thank you so much. Life is still a little nutty, but I’m going to be back to “my old self” shortly.

Leave a Reply

