Skip to content

peppermint cosmo

December 27, 2010

So this is a stretch of a meatless monday, but who am I fooling?  My gluttony over the past week in Chicago was far from meatless and given that we are still the throes of the holiday season with New Year’s Eve right around the corner, I thought this meatless monday could be more like a liquid meatless monday.

Believe it or not, this recipe comes courtesy of Self magazine via Epicurious.  Granted, for portion control, I believe the recipe calls for you to serve this in shot glasses.  I, instead, tripled the recipe, threw it in a pitcher and served in martini glasses.  My favorite part about this drink?  The garnish.  C’mon!  It’s the holidays.   Not going to serve the guests drinks in shot glasses!  What makes to drink though is its garnish.  Look closely and you will see a cute little flat starlite mint.   Making this might be the easiest thing you’ve ever done and is way too much fun.

Making these is almost foolproof.  You preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Place mints on a silpat or parchment paper a good 3-4 inches apart so they don’t melt into each other.  Then place in the oven for no more than 5 minutes?  This is where I tested the limits of how foolproof it was.  Instead of timing it to 5 minutes, I walked away, forgot about it and came back to a bubbling mess on the sheet.  There were a few I was able to salvage, but it wasn’t really worth it.  You can see the difference in the results below.  Stick to the 5 minutes timer.

The effect is fantastic.  They float nicely right on the top of the drink and there were plenty of oohs and aahs over this little holiday touch.  I think this is my new trick for just about any decoration for desserts.  On Christmas, I was already picturing a dark chocolate cake lined with these along the exterior edge.  How fun!

The drink, of course, was also appreciated.  Truth be told, cosmos aren’t my thing (Mr. KC and I were drinking our own new favorite drink–maple old fashioneds–recipe to come soon), but others enjoyed it and isn’t that what the holidays are all about?

peppermint cosmos
adapted from self magazine

ingredients

  • 3 cups pomegranate juice
  • Juice of 3 limes
  • 12 ounces vodka
  • 3/4 teaspoon peppermint extract
  • Handful of ice
  • Half dozen starlite mints

directions

  1. Prepare starlite mint garnish as described above.  Plate and leave in fridge so they don’t warm up and stick together.
  2. Mix all liquid ingredients in a pitcher and stir.
  3. Add enough ice to cool down drink, but not to water down.
  4. Using a slotted spoon as a strainer (to avoid getting ice in drinks), pour the cocktail into martini glasses.
  5. Serve garnished with one floating mint.
  6. Enjoy responsibly.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2010 11:19 pm

    Hi, KC. I just came across your site via Food Press – just in time for your pomegranate-based recipe. Coincidentally, I tried to concoct my own yesterday, sans peppermint, with Rose’s lime juice, vodka, selzer, and the aforementioned pure juice. It wasn’t a “martini” exactly (or a Cosmo), but yours sounds much better.

    BTW, I grew up just west of the city in the Greater Metropolitan Chicagoland Region – maybe the TV ads dispensed that lingo before you were a child….

    Thanks,

    Dan

    • December 30, 2010 9:26 am

      Thanks for stopping by. I had to laugh when I saw you write greater metropolitan chicagoland region. I still use the term “chicagoland” to this day much to the bemusement of friends as they think it say it makes it sound like a theme park.

      Your drink sounds great as well. I always like a little soda water to add a little fizz to drinks. Hope to continue seeing you around.

  2. March 12, 2011 10:22 pm

    Love the picture of the good mints versus the bad mints. Great recipe too.

    • March 13, 2011 4:53 pm

      Thanks! I’m generally not a huge fan of cosmos, but this pitcher went super fast and the floating mints are just too fun.

Leave a Reply

