Skip to content

a christmas tradition and a christmas addition

December 15, 2010

When we moved to Switzerland, I knew my work would require a lot of travel and Mr. KC and I knew that we would want to travel quite bit ourselves.  As the trips started, I found myself at a loss for what to buy as souvenirs to bring back from each place.  Our small apartment did not lend itself kindly to lots of extra stuff so I needed to buy things that I knew we would use.  And that’s when we started collecting Christmas ornaments from countries and cities that we had visited for both work and fun.  We’ve gotten to a place where I would say a good 75% of our ornaments are now travel-related.  It’s such fun, bringing the ornaments out and remembering trips.  I thought I would share some of them with you and a new Christmas tradition that we added this year.

This year, we added a new addition to the Christmas tree family.  It was inspired by a collection of corks that we had been squirreling away for some time.  Bottles from special occasions or just special wines were put into this zip-loc bag without any real purpose, until now.  Mr. KC armed with paper mache, a drill, ribbon and pure determination brought to life our cork tree.

Believe it or not, one of the hardest things to do was just to find a tabletop tree in our area, but a flower market came through for us (after a disastrous first purchase from the Boy Scouts).  And that is, in fact, a wine bottle topper made by Mr. KC using a half bottle of wine as  a mold. The vintner?  Château Noel, of course.

We still need to work on labeling some of the corks to remember where they come from, but the overall effect is perfect–I love this little tree.  Every family has its traditions and as dorky as ours may be, I love that every occasion we celebrate with a nice bottle of something and every trip that we take will somehow find its way immortalized on one of these trees.   Here’s to many more ornaments…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2010 12:54 am

    I love that you have collected your Christmas tree ornaments from so many different parts of the world. How special to be so “well-travelled” you lucky girl. The best though is your cork ornaments. I love it! Well done to Mr KC.
    🙂 Mandy

  2. odorunara permalink
    December 19, 2010 7:30 pm

    Kind of a side-note, but I love Crayon Shinchan! (the one from Singapore) I didn’t realize it was popular in other countries. It was translated into English around 2006, I think, but I don’t know how popular it was.

    As for the main post, what an adorable tree! I collect ornaments from the places I’ve lived, although my cats back home have made decorating a nightmare. The good stuff only goes up for the annual holiday party.

    • December 19, 2010 10:27 pm

      I have to be honest, we actually don’t know much about Crayon Shinchan ourselves, but thought it was a great ornament when we saw it. It’s nice to have some perspective on its background though!

Leave a Reply

