Skip to content

meatless monday: chiles rellenos

November 15, 2010

The weekend of Halloween, Mr. KC and I played hosts for the first time since moving back.  What originally started out as a dinner with 4 or 5 people, quickly turned into a dinner for 8.  While I love playing hostess with the mostest, I’m also paranoid about not having enough food.  I decided that since it was the weekend of Halloween, a Day of the Dead theme was appropriate and easy.  Mexican for a group is never a problem.  While most dishes worked out to the right amount, I made more spanish rice than I think 16 people could have eaten, let alone 8.  So we had our fair share of leftovers.

The next day and a few serrano chiles later, I thought this would be the right complement to the leftover rice.  And it was.  I forget how much I love these, and I’m not sure how I do.  After all, how can you NOT love a pepper stuffed with cheese and then fried until gooey and soft.  I topped each with a homemade salsa and rice with a side of sour cream for a great next day Mexican leftovers meal.

chiles rellenos
adapted from the Food Network

ingredients

  • 4 poblano chiles
  • 1 lb queso fresco (or any mild, melting cheese)
  • Toothpicks
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup oil

directions

  1. Using a small paring knife, cut out the top of each pepper and carefully scrape out seeds from each pepper.
  2. Over a medium heat, char the chiles on both sides.
  3. Once blackened on all sides, put in a plastic bag for 10 minute to sweat.
  4. Remove from the bag and remove skins (they should come off easily by lightly scraping the skins with a serrated knife.
  5. Stuff the peppers with the queso fresco and use toothpicks to hold them together as necessary.
  6. Separate the egg yolks from the whites.
  7. Add the egg whites to a large bowl. Reserve the egg yolks.
  8. Beat the egg whites with an electric beater until soft peaks form.
  9. Add in the flour and the egg yolks and mix until completely incorporated.
  10. Add the oil to a 10-inch frying pan over medium heat.
  11. Dip the stuffed peppers into the batter and fry until golden brown on both sides (about 4-5 minutes on each side).
  12. Remove from the pan using a slotted spatula and place on a paper towel lined plate to absorb excess oil.
  13. Serve immediately.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 11:40 pm

    Hmm, simplicity. Heavenly.
    🙂 Mandy

  2. November 17, 2010 4:16 pm

    I’m digging meatless mondays. You make food that is right up my alley!! I usually make this green rice (http://www.rachaelrayshow.com/food/recipes/green-rice) to accompany my chile rellenos.

    • November 17, 2010 4:27 pm

      I’ve never seen green rice before. I have to admit I have this strange aversion to Rachel Ray, but I think I’m going to have to get over it to make this recipe! Thanks for sharing.

      • November 17, 2010 4:51 pm

        I know what you mean, but I’m always looking for quick and easy recipes, and I love cilantro, so for me it was a win-win.

  3. Pancho Pistolas! permalink
    November 18, 2010 3:57 pm

    Dear Klutzychef,

    I must say it was really interesting finding your blog and even more pleasent to find out you cook mexican chiles rellenos. As a Mexican living in Switzerland I don’t fiund very often really nice and originalrecipes such as yours. Congratulations it was an awesome recipe…
    All the best!

    • November 18, 2010 10:14 pm

      Thanks so much! Hope you’re enjoying Switzerland–we miss it tons, but easier access to foods like poblano chiles helps ease the pain 🙂

Leave a comment