Skip to content

i’m not dead, just moving

October 20, 2010
tags:

Over a month ago I announced that Mr. KC and I were packing up and taking our show across the pond.  I also, I believe, made a commitment to being back online as soon as possible.  Here is what I didn’t anticipate:

  • that we had signed a lease with a woman who was not exactly in contention for landlord of the year.
  • that when I arrived to our apartment for the first team (accompanied by all my worldly belongings and our team of movers), we would be greeted by someplace that was more demolition zone than home sweet home.
  • that 1 week later we wouldn’t have a home any longer because we would break lease.
  • that we would then move into a spatially challenged apartment (I believe the real-estate agents call it “cozy”) .
  • that I would have to hire movers so many times, I would get a 10% discount off my third use.
  • that I would still be living out of boxes and worst of all…
  • that it would be more than a month before I could cook a decent meal in my own home.

So, there we are.  It wasn’t until yesterday that I cooked my first “real meal” in my home (seared salmon and garlic green chard).  We still live out of boxes and use crates as a coffee table, but we’re moving along (no pun intended).  I miss you all and regret not posting more, but instead of understanding, I’m actually just going to ask for your pity, because the livin’ over here sure is rough.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2010 2:41 am

    Sorry that the move didn’t go well and I’m even more sorry that your living conditions aren’t so happy. Just keep in mind, cozy can be a good thing. Missed seeing your posts. Hope things get better for you soon!

  2. October 21, 2010 6:01 am

    Oh you poor souls – I feel your pain of living “uncomfortably”. Wishing for you that your home soon becomes to your sanctuary and for it to bring you many years of happiness.
    🙂 Mandy

  3. October 21, 2010 5:05 pm

    Thanks, Mandy and Lisa. There does seem to be light at the end of the tunnel and hopefully I’ll be back in full KC swing soon.

  4. Jaime permalink
    October 25, 2010 6:25 pm

    I am VERY happy you are back. Soon enough everything will fall into place.

  5. Mimi permalink
    November 4, 2010 2:26 am

    Well, now you have more stories to add to this chapter in your life, and you guys sound like you’re making the best of it! Best of luck and I’m looking forward to your return!

    • November 7, 2010 2:42 pm

      Mimi–This is definitely quite a chapter, but things are finally calming down. KC should be back up and running shortly!

Leave a Reply

