Skip to content

we’re moving!

September 25, 2010

In April 2007, Mr. KC and I left friends, family and our lives back in Boston to embark on our new life here in Switzerland.  We left telling everyone not to worry, we’d be back soon–“one, maybe two years, tops” was the phrase we muttered over and over again.

3.5 years, dozens of adventures and enough dairy to make anyone’s head spin, we are looking at the other side of this journey–the one-way ticket back to the States (well, actually, it’s round-trip, because those are cheaper, but don’t tell United that we aren’t going to use the other leg).  It’s been the blog post I’ve been looking forward to and dreading all at once.  On October 1, Mr. KC and I are Boston bound once again.  We’re trading in our frequent flyer cards for T-passes and hopefully catching fall in New England–I couldn’t imagine a better welcome.  Football, leaf-peeping and Target–how exciting!

Lest you think you’re going to see fewer travel posts and the elimination of swiss saturdays (which I recognize has been as absentee as meatless mondays–sorry!), don’t fret.  This departure came much sooner than I ever expected and I have a list of topics I didn’t get the chance to touch upon, not to mention all the trips we’ve done that I still haven’t put together trip reports for.  So, while the posts will continue to be scarce for a while, I promise to rush back as soon as possible.  I’ll be the same KC, just reporting from a different location.  See you on the other side!

can someone please remind me why I'm leaving this?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2010 6:45 pm

    Well welcome back to my neck of the woods (I’m in RI). You’re coming back at the perfect time. The beautiful fall colors will be a sight for sore eyes! Happy for you!

    • September 25, 2010 8:07 pm

      Thanks, Lisa, those words made me even more excited than I already was. I’m now thinking we’re going to have to postpone unpacking so we can take a road trip to VT instead.

  2. September 25, 2010 9:28 pm

    Boston is a wonderful place to come back to. Welcome home.
    But since I am European I would stay in Switzerland. I hope you understand.

    • September 25, 2010 10:15 pm

      Thanks, Kirsten. Trust me, a good portion of me wants to stay here, but the pull of home is too strong. Who knows though, maybe we’ll use that return leg after all! haha

  3. September 26, 2010 6:52 pm

    Its always great to be back home!!

    • September 26, 2010 7:22 pm

      Couldn’t agree more. Dorothy had it right when she said “there’s no place like home”. And just in time for Halloween and Thanksgiving. Couldn’t have timed it better!

  4. September 27, 2010 6:44 am

    You are in the boat my husband and I will be in next June – leaving a “temporary” home to plant roots back home. You will always have your memories and adventures.
    🙂 Mandy

    • September 27, 2010 11:31 am

      And what memories and adventures they were! It’s hard to think that it’s been so long already and we’re already missing our weekend road trips. I hope that Mr. KC and I carry over our sense of wanderlust to the U.S.. Although weekend trips to Tuscany may be out of the question, weekend trips to NYC certainly aren’t!

Leave a Reply

