Skip to content

meatless monday: fried zucchini blossoms

August 30, 2010

I don’t know why, but I’ve always been intimidated by the idea of cooking with zucchini blossoms.  Maybe it’s my aversion to flowers and gardening that I’ve been talking about.  Or it could just be that I think it weird to cook the blossom of a vegetable.  Either way, I couldn’t resist last week at the market.  There was a basket full of them, they were all beautiful and they were too cheap to pass up on.

Then I brought them home and had no idea what the heck to do with them.  So, I basically made this up.  And you know what?  We should flowers and blossoms more often.  These were great.  I used a basic beer batter to dip the flowers in and stuffed the blossoms with olive paste and mozzarella.  These would be equally good with sardines or another salty component as well.  I can’t imagine these would be all that remarkable with just mozzarella as it would likely be too bland.   So, if you, like me, have some weird fear of buying and cooking up some of these, put that fear aside and try this out.  You’ll be happy you did.

fried zucchini blossoms


ingredients

  • 6 zucchini blossoms
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/cup beer (I used an IPA)
  • 1/2 cup mozzarella
  • olive paste (probably came out to about 2-3 tbsp worth)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 vegetable oil.

directions

  1. Mix flour and beer.  Paste should form and you want the batter to be the consistency of pancake batter.  If it’s too thick, try adding a little water or more beer to thin it out until you have your desired consistency.
  2. Add 1 tsp of salt to flour/beer mixture.
  3. Start to heat vegetable oil over medium high heat.
  4. As carefully as possible, stuff mozzarella (use shredded as fresh will have too much water in it) and 1/4 tsp olive paste to each zucchini blossom.  I used a teaspoon to help get the mixture as far into the blossom as possible without ripping the blossom open.
  5. Again, using a careful hand, dip each stuffed blossom into the batter.  Don’t be shy, make sure to soak it as much as possible.
  6. Add blossom to pan and pan fry until evenly browned and cheese is melted (about 3 minutes on each side).
  7. Serve with a nice big green side salad.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    August 30, 2010 10:02 pm

    I make the zucchini flowers with ricotta cheese & mozzerella. They are one of my favorites. At the farmer’s market I go to, they say they make put them in omlettes. I don’t like eggs but interesting…

  2. August 31, 2010 12:04 pm

    What a fabulously outstanding and original recipe. I cannot wait to try this version and the one with anchovies. Super yummy!
    🙂 Mandy

Leave a Reply

