Skip to content

meatless monday: creamy gazpacho

August 2, 2010

Gazpacho is the quintessential “summer soup”.  It also is somehow easy to mess up.  Or at least, that would be the conclusion I would come to based on the shocking number of crappy gazpachos I’ve had over my lifetime.  Messing up gazpacho seems like it would be the equivalent of messing up toast (then again,  if you’ve read my “about me” you realize I shouldn’t be casting stones).  I have a feeling the vast majority of the bad gazpachos I’ve been served have to do with people using sub-standard tomatoes.   However, since the markets and the stores are swimming in beautiful, fragrant tomatoes, it was hard to think of this going wrong.  And it didn’t.

This gazpacho is “beefed” up by adding yogurt giving it a thicker consistency and making it more satisfying as a meal.  Did I mention it has a nice garlicky kick?  This soup and a nice green salad would make a fantastic dinner on a too-hot-to-cook night.  I skipped the toasted pecorino, but only because I really didn’t want to be around anything warm that evening.  It seems like it would be a great addition, so next time, I’ll have to give it a whirl.  If you try it before I get around to it, let me know.

creamy gazpacho
from the New York Times

ingredients

  • 2 large tomatoes, cored and roughly chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups (12 ounces) plain sheep’s-milk or regular yogurt
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil, more for serving
  • 12 basil leaves, roughly chopped, more for serving
  • 2 large garlic cloves, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 2 scallions (white and light green parts), roughly chopped
  • 1 3/4 teaspoons kosher salt, more to taste
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons red wine vinegar, more to taste
  • Pinch cayenne pepper
  • Ground black pepper to taste

directions

  1. Put all ingredients in a blender.
  2. Blend.
  3. Serve with a drizzle of olive oil.
One Comment leave one →
  1. August 2, 2010 3:58 pm

    Simple perfection. Brilliant combination of fresh ingredients.
    🙂 Mandy

Leave a Reply

