Skip to content

meatless monday: garlic hummus

July 12, 2010

This admittedly a lame meatless monday, but here’s my excuse.

Ahem, here we go…it’s hot.  I mean really hot.  The kind of hot that makes me want to trade in lake breezes for air conditioning (just for a night or two. I’m not crazy, after all).  When it’s this hot, the thought of standing over a stove even if it’s just to boil water for pasta is a major turn off.  So, this Monday, I bring to you my go to recipe for hummus.  Simple, easy AND it doesn’t involve anything hot.  I did, make my own pita bread to go with it which involved a grill, but that doesn’t count because Mr. KC has to stand over it, not me.  Pita recipe to come shortly…they weren’t the most photogenic, but they sure were tasty.

Hummus+homemade pita+bevy of vegetables from the fridge (including, but not limited to carrots, cucumbers, radishes, sprouts and pea pods)=perfect hot Monday night dinner.  Maybe I don’t need that AC after all.

garlic hummus

ingredients

  • 2 cans chickpeas drained and rinsed
  • 2 cloves garlic (one if you prefer a more subtle garlic taste)
  • 2 tbsp tahini
  • juice of one lemon
  • 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil (adding more as necessary)
  • 1 1/2 tsp coarse salt
  • paprika for garnish

directions

  1. Add rinsed and drained chickpeas to blender (food processor would be easier, but mine is not big enough)
  2. Throw in garlic cloves and tahini
  3. Juice lemon into blender
  4. Add salt and olive oil
  5. Blend.  My blender will never mix it all in one go.  No problem, just stop the blender and push the chickpeas down.  I generally need to do this 2-3 times before it starts resembling hummus.
  6. Add olive oil as needed.  You want the texture to be nice and smooth, I generally add close to 1/2 cup all said and done.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2010 4:24 am

    Looks yumm and being a hummus and veggie lover – i should go for this! Thanks for sharing. Loved your blog!

    • July 15, 2010 9:05 am

      You absolutely should. Thanks so stopping by and I hope you enjoy the hummus.

  2. July 15, 2010 9:07 am

    Oh man! I could eat 10 servings of Hummus in a sitting. This looks suburb! Thanks for sharing this…especially with all the tempting photos as well!

    • July 15, 2010 9:23 am

      I think we did eat about 10 servings all said and done. It’s just so good!

  3. July 16, 2010 1:28 am

    Looks great! Excellent pictures as well!
    http://www.carynbirch.wordpress.com

  4. January 29, 2012 5:04 pm

    THIS Looks AMAZING I LOVE HUMMUS and it’s so HARD to find “REAL HUMMUS.. THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

