Skip to content

tuscan crostini

May 27, 2010

I can remember when:

  • I would go to the ATM, take out $5 and have that last a whole weekend
  • Wine in a box served in plastic cups was my drink of choice
  • 3 hours of sleep seemed like plenty
  • I showered in flip-flops

Ah, college.  It’s a distant memory, but a fond one.  Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t turn the clock back for anything.  Hardly.  I like the fact that Franzia and I are no longer friends, that I don’t need someone’s parents to come into town to have a nice meal, and most importantly that the great guy I met at that party is now my husband/official taste tester/unofficial copy editor/favorite travel partner.

The one year from that time that I do look back on nostalgically is my year abroad in Florence.  A group of us took a cooking class given by an American who married an Italian.  She taught our courses in Italian, but effortlessly switched back to English when we couldn’t understand something.  Our cultural exchange program seemed to make so much more sense when you learned to make and love the food.  It was here that the seeds of cooking interest were planted (yet somehow neglected for another decade and change).  Possibly inspired by the reappearance of the sun, I dusted off the book where I kept all the recipes we made that year and found an all-but-forgotten recipe for Tuscan crostini.  It’s simple, rich and easily one of my favorites.  Perhaps some of that is nostalgia, but most of it is just that it tastes dang good.  Perfect for a nice night outside with a glass of rosé from a bottle.

Who knew pink wines came in a bottle?!

tuscan crostini

ingredients

  • 300 grams chicken liver, chopped
  • 2 fingers marsala (I guessed about 1/4 cup)
  • 1 carrot
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 tbsp capers
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 2 anchovy filets
  • 1/4 cup marsala
  • 1/2 chicken bouillon cube
  • 1 cup water
  • butter (2 tbsp)
  • olive oil (2 tbsp)

directions

  1. Mince carrot, onion, and garlic clove finely
  2. Heat olive oil and butter over medium high heat.
  3. Add carrot, onion and garlic and saute for about 5-7 minutes (or until onions start to turn golden)
  4. Add chopped livers.
  5. When slightly brown a(about 4 minutes), remove mixture and finely mince when a large chef knife.
  6. Add 1 cup water and 1/2 bouillon cube.
  7. Cook for 30 minutes, adding more water as necessary (I was fine without adding anything)
  8. While this is cooking, finely mince a tbsp of capers and the 2 anchovies.
  9. Add capers, anchovies and marsala and cook for 3 minutes.
  10. Remove from heat and serve on pieces of crusty white Italian bread.
  11. Close your eyes and pretend like you’re in Tuscany.
  12. Return mixture to pan and brown some more.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 12:35 pm

    Haha I remember those days too…looking back I have no idea how I ever managed on so little sleep or so little money! Your crostini looks so tasty on that bread….and I am in love with your picture of the rosé in a glass – I don’t know why I never got into rosés, but maybe I will have to pick one up this weekend 🙂

    • May 27, 2010 12:46 pm

      You should! You know, I honestly think it was because of my Franzia days that I had this visceral reaction against rosés, but then I read a NY Times article a year or so ago that peeked my interest. It’s now our warm weather/picnic wine of choice. I just checked out your blog and noticed you live in Switzerland–the Coop has a decent selection. We’ve purchased the Rosé Bordeaux AC Mouton Cadet a couple of times with success. You’ll have to let me know what you think.

      • May 27, 2010 6:38 pm

        Oh cool! We’ve got a get together planned with some friends this weekend, I’ll go check it out and try it and see what everyone thinks!

Leave a Reply

