Skip to content

aioli

May 21, 2010

Just a quick post today to complement yesterday’s Swedish fish soup.  When I made this recipe the first time, I didn’t include the healthy dollop of aioli at the end.  When I proudly announced to a Swedish colleague the next day that I had made (and loved) this soup, she immediately asked “ooh, and you included aioli as well, yes?”  Tail between legs, I said I had not and vowed that I would the next time.  And I did.  This is easy and quick to make. There’s really no reason not too.

Enjoy!

ailoi
adapted from Alice Waters

ingredients

  • 2 small cloves of garlic, peeled
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • Approximately 1 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • Lemon juice
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper

directions

  1. Pound garlic and a pinch of salt with a mortar and pestle until smooth.
  2. Put egg yolk in a bowl, add about half the garlic paste and 1/2 teaspoon water. Mix well with a whisk.
  3. Using cup with a pour spout, slowly dribble in oil, whisking constantly. As egg yolk absorbs oil, sauce will thicken, lighten in color, and become opaque. This will happen rather quickly.
  4. Then you can add oil a little faster, whisking all the while.
  5. If the sauce is thicker than you like, thin it with a few drops of water.
  6. Add mustard.
  7. Taste and season with lemon juice, more salt and garlic, as desired.


6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2010 6:36 pm

    There is nothing better than a really good ailoi with almost any dish. Thanks for the recipe!

    • May 21, 2010 6:48 pm

      It’s true! I always forget how much I love it. Am already thinking about making it again this weekend for grilled meat.

  2. July 14, 2010 6:27 pm

    just a humble correction…. it´s not aioli….it´s called allioli… it means ” garlic and oil” in catalan..
    and it´s made simply by mixing (using a hand morter preferably) crushed garlic (without the green root inside) and olive oil,, you can add a pinch of salt and another pinch of lemmon….

    Another recipe is the one you posted but without the mustard….it takes away the garlic flavout…

    • July 14, 2010 10:48 pm

      @juan. Having lived in Barcelona for a short awhile, I actually double checked this before writing it as I’ve always knows it as allioli myself. Actually, I think “aioli” is the more widely used english version of the word and how the provençal version is written.

      You should try the mustard version some time though. I actually still felt there was a very strong garlic flavor to it…and unfortunately, I imagine everyone I spoke to that day probably thought so too 🙂

  3. July 15, 2010 4:25 pm

    hi there..
    I´m actually from Barcelona and I´ve always known it as “allioli” even in English..
    If you say “aioli” is incomplete,,,as “all” means garlic, i (and) oli (oil)
    What does the Provence got to do with this ???? Allioli comes from Catalonia not from Provence.

    I will definitely try the mustard version….

Leave a Reply

