Skip to content

anzac cookies

April 26, 2010

Because it’s ANZAC day in Australia, because I felt the urge to bake something over the weekend, and because I’m heading Down Under in just a few short weeks, I decided it would be appropriate to bake some ANZAC cookies. (BTW, Meatless Monday post will be delayed until tomorrow, but I promise it’s a good one that will feed a small vegetarian army).

ANZAC day is a day of remembrance in both Australia and New Zealand and I was curious what the significance behind the biscuits (cookies for us Yanks) was.  Here’s what I found.  During WWI and WWII, wives, mothers and girlfriends were concerned for the welfare and health of the troops.  Knowing that they couldn’t send perishable goods, they came up with a recipe that could remain edible for over 2 months.  The basis of the recipe is Scottish and the ingredients were simple and generally non-perishable.

My recipe is by no means the original and is a Jamie Oliver adaptation that gives a chewier version of the biscuits (I’m not huge on crunchy cookies), but they turned out well and most importantly introduced me to a new friend…golden syrup.

I’ve seen this tin tons of time, but have never tried this before.  As a “sacrifice” to this post, I knew I needed to give a spoonful of it on its own a go.  Dangerous!  The taste is like a light caramel, but it is single-handedly the stickiest substance I’ve ever encountered.  Now I need to find most purposes for golden syrup.  Life is rough.

ANZAC biscuits/cookies
from Jamie Oliver

ingredients

  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup shredded coconut
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 125 g butter (9 tbsp or 4.4 ounces)
  • 2 tbsp golden syrup
  • 1 tsp baking soda

directions

  1. Preheat oven to 160°C/320°F.
  2. Line baking tray with parchment paper or sil-pat.
  3. Sift flour into a large bowl, add the oats, coconut and brown sugar. Stir together.
  4. In a small saucepan, melt the butter, golden syrup and 2 tablespoons of water together over a medium heat until melted, about 2-3 minutes.  Remove from heat.
  5. Stir in the bicarbonate of soda. The liquid should froth up a bit.
  6. Pour the butter mixture into the flour mixture and stir until combined.
  7. Roll heaping tablespoons of the mixture into balls and place on trays about 5cm (2 inches) apart to allow for spreading. Press with a fork or thumb lightly to flatten slightly.
  8. If you have some left over dry mixture in the bottom of the bowl, just dispose of that. (I did not)
  9. Bake for 10 mins or until golden brown.
  10. Remove from oven and allow to stand on trays for 5 minutes, before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. cakeypangs permalink
    March 14, 2011 5:31 pm

    Wow, these look great! I’ve always bought Anzac biscuits in the past for my Australian boyfriend but this year I will give these a go. With my left over syrup I will definitely be drizzling it liberally over my porridge,there is no better topping!

    • April 9, 2011 11:04 am

      Sorry for the delay in responding–such a good idea to use the syrup as a topping for porridge! I’m going to have to steal that.

Leave a Reply

