Skip to content

strawberry vanilla spritzer

April 23, 2010

It’s a  miracle that I make it through each day without self-destructing.  Not only do I have a knack for accidentally inflicting self-harm but I also have the rare ability to lose anything  that will sit still long enough for me to put it in a bizarre place that I think makes sense at the time.  Recipes included.

Somewhere in the void of the blogs, websites and magazines that I read about food, I saw a strawberry juice that involved a vanilla bean.  I remember this much because I had a bunch of strawberries and a vanilla bean both looking for purposes in life.  Then said recipe disappeared.   I say “it disappeared” because it makes it sound like it’s the recipe’s fault and not mine that I couldn’t find it.  So, I made it up.  The initial “spritzer” was made using diet 7Up (a miracle mixer, I’m convinced), but later that day somehow some vodka and more lime juice made its way in for one dangerously delicious cocktail.  Guess the vodka’s not just for pasta any more!

KC note:  Straining this juice through a cheese cloth was a pain in the a**.  Although I was very happy with the seedless end result, next time, I might see if a fine strainer will work just as well.

Strawberry vanilla spritzer
adapted from the faint memory of seeing a recipe somewhere about something involving strawberries and vanilla

ingredients

  • 1 lb/500g strawberries
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • half vanilla bean, scraped
  • juice of one lime

directions

  1. Wash and hull the strawberries.
  2. Add  strawberries into the blender and add 1/2 cup sugar and the scraped out contents of your vanilla bean.
  3. Now comes the pain in the a** part, strain the strawberry mixture through a cheese cloth or better yet a fine strainer (I think that will be my weapon of choice next time).  You want to get those strawberry seeds out so that you’re drinking, not eating, your juice.  The mixture is thick, so I found that I could only add a little at a time and then had to “encourage” the mix to go through with a spoon.  This only took 10 minutes, but it felt endless.
  4. Add in the juice of one lime (or lemon for that matter) to the strained strawberry juice. Mix.
  5. Enjoy on a nice sunny spring/summer day with sparkling water or diet 7Up (yum).  OR Enjoy even more on a nice sunny spring/summer afternoon as the base to countless variations of cocktails.  I would start with just a few spoonfuls though, it’s a sweet combination and if you don’t won’t over-powering strawberry flavor, it’s best to start out slow and add more as you go along.


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

