Skip to content

balsamic roasted carrots

December 14, 2009

I feel like every other post, I talk about how a certain food that I hated growing up has become part of my everyday cuisine.   Carrots fall into this category.  But not just carrots, cooked carrots.  For the longest time, I thought cooked carrots were this soggy, orange mushy vegetable to be avoided at all costs.

And then…then, I went to the farmer’s market to find these!  Purple, red, yellow and white carrots?!  Say it ain’t so.  Talk about walking through the looking glass into a whole new world of carrots.  Naturally because they were pretty (and rather photogenic I might add), I purchased some, brought them home and got to work.  Most recipes that I could find, generally called for balsamic and some form of sugar, agave nectar, etc.  Here’s the thing, I don’t like sweet carrots.  And anyway, balsamic vinegar is sweet enough for my taste.  This recipe does not include any type of sugary addition, but if that’s your thing, more power to you, add some agave nectar at the same time as the balsamic.

The variations on this are also endless. In another variation I’ve simply done a garam masala/hot curry combo, but this is definitely my favorite combo.  Enjoy!

Balsamic roasted carrots

Ingredients
1lb carrots
1-2 tbsps cumin
Balsamic vinegar
Olive oil

Directions

  1. Evenly cut carrots into 1.5 inch pieces.
  2. Lightly drizzle with olive oil
  3. Using your cumin, lightly dust the carrots until covered.
  4. Position rack in the middle of the oven and cook for 15 minutes at 350 degrees (177 C)
  5. Remove from oven and give drizzle with balsamic.  Using tongs, turn carrots to cover.
  6. Return to oven for another 15 minutes or until carrots are slightly browned around the edges and tender.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

