Skip to content

chocolate chip zucchini bread

December 12, 2009

This late summer/fall was a season full of short weekend trips with Mr. KC and friends.  And what fun.  I have yet to do trip reports for these, but I promise I’ll get around to them soon enough. These trips mostly centered around food and wine, but regardless it was nice to be able to feel like you escaped so far in just a 3 hour train/car ride.

But what trip would be complete without snacks for the journey.  After all, the journey rivals the destination half the time.  Somehow this recipe became a staple for the trip.  I say somehow as if I don’t know how.  I know how.  A) Look at the timeframe, I was swimming in zucchinis B) this bread only gets better the next day like chinese food and rum cake and C) well, this one should be obvious, it has chocolate chips in it, enough said.

It doesn’t hurt that this is one of the easiest things to make.  Of course, having just said that, I feel that owning up to my name (which should perhaps be more careless than klutzy), I’ve messed this up once and avoided a mess up another time.  The first time, I didn’t line my bread pan with parchment paper.  The result?  Half of the desired bread since the other half was left stuck to the bottom.  Now don’t get me wrong, I still ate that bit.  Piece by piece scraping it off the bottom.  It did nothing to the taste, everything to the look though.

The second time, I was in a hurry, distracted and ready just to get this thing in the oven to move on to something else (which clearly in hindsight is not important enough to remember).  Mr. KC rolls by and decided to taste test the batter.  I believe he missed his calling as a batter tester.  The response I received was not one I expected, “Huh, salty!”.

And there is reason number 872 why I married this man.  It wasn’t a crinkled nose and startled look accompanied by a “That can’t be right”, but rather a tone that implied both surprise and confidence all at once.  As if he wasn’t entirely sure why his tastebuds weren’t met by a sugary treat, but that he had the faith in me that somehow it would turn out.

Well, it wouldn’t have come out.  I scanned the counter and sure enough, my dear friend sugar was not represented.  I had left out the sugar.  Two minutes later and the problem was rectified and the zucchini bread was saved, but only because Mr. KC takes his job seriously.  Clearly more seriously than I take mine.

And with that, I leave you with the pearl of wisdom that this recipe is easy, but not fool proof.  Don’t forget the sugar.  Or the eggs, or the flour.  They all seem to play this really weird important role:  go figure.  And of course, remember that this bread is best shared with friends or husband/wife en route to a fun weekend destination.  Very important.

Chocolate chip zucchini bread
adapted from Paula Deen’s recipe on the Food Network
makes one loaf, but can easily be doubled to make two

Ingredients
1 1/2 cps all purpose flour
3/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp baking  soda
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 1/2 cps sugar
1/2 cp veggie oil
2 eggs
1/6 cup water (I know totally bizarre, but this recipe was halved)
1 cp grated zucchini (equivalent to one medium zucchini)
1 cp chocolate chips
1/2 tsp lemon juice

*For a slightly healthier version, you could sub out 1/2 the flour for whole wheat and use olive oil.  While I’ve never used whole wheat flour for this, I almost always use olive oil and it works great.

Directions

  1. Grate zucchini
  2. Add dry ingredients
  3. Add wet ingredients
  4. Fold in chocolate chips
  5. Bake for 35-45 minutes at 350 degrees. (my oven is small and convection, so it cooks really quickly.  Set your timer for 35, but it’ll likely take 45 minutes in most ovens.

Just look at how easy this is!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

