Skip to content

buttermilk pancakes

December 7, 2009
tags:

There’s nothing better than a good lazy Sunday.  Yesterday’s highlights included: spending way too much time looking for a Thai meatball soup I was hell bent on making, taking down the Christmas decorations from the attic and best of all, enjoying a late breakfast.

When I first moved to Switzerland, I realized, European breakfast is one thing I will never be able to put myself behind.  I’m barely a cold cuts person at lunch let alone at breakfast.  Buttermilk pancakes versus cold ham and cheese?  No contest.

So, shortly after figuring out how to translate buttermilk I was on the hunt for a good pancake recipe. I was amazed at how fussy some were.  It took me awhile to find a recipe that I really liked, but I finally did.  I’ve made a few adjustments to my taste, but this is a staple in the KC household, generally reserved for the cold, cloudy Sundays that seem to be more and more frequent.

Please note, this dish is best enjoyed in pajamas.  I swear it makes them taste better.

Buttermilk Pancakes
adapted from Gourmet Magazine, May 2004
makes 6 bigger-than-your-head pancakes

Ingredients

2 cup all-purpose flour
2 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
2 cup well-shaken buttermilk
1tbsp sugar

Directions (to be followed VERY carefully)

1.  Mix everything together.

Tip: To make buttering the pancakes easier, I generally take a few tbsps of butter, throw it into a mug and then melt the butter in the microwave while the first pancake is cooking.  Using a silicone pastry brush, I then brush the melted butter on the pancakes.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike permalink
    December 9, 2009 2:08 pm

    This is a great recipe. Thanks. As a pancake lover, I’d love to chime in with my own tip: Be sure to use REAL maple syrup, not the fake stuff. And heat up the syrup before pouring it over the pancakes. The hotter the better.

  2. oinky permalink
    July 14, 2010 6:37 pm

    i dont get the tip part..do you do that while the pancakes are cooking or afterwards while its hot?

    • July 14, 2010 9:48 pm

      I actually do it after the first flip (so while the second side is cooking) allowing the pancake to soak up the butter and any remaining butter to remain in the pan. If I have a little butter left over in the mug after cooking then I may brush a little extra on right before pouring on syrup. All up to you though.

  3. July 15, 2010 12:57 pm

    Hi there,

    A question from a fellow expat – what is buttermilk in German?

  4. July 15, 2010 1:44 pm

    I’m in Zurich, Switzerland. I make good pancakes but my boyfriend has been dying to try the fluffy ones and I’ve been unsuccessful so far in making them…looking forward to giving your recipe a try.

    Thanks a lot!

    Denise
    http://www.travelwithdenden.wordpress.com

  5. July 15, 2010 9:52 pm

    Actually those are the ones he wants, so thanks! Just a quick note connected to your other post…if you live in Zurich and run out of eggs on sunday…the Supermarket (migros) at the mainstation will be open…

    Denise

Leave a Reply

