Skip to content

thanksgiving

November 30, 2009

Cooking for two isn’t always easy.  Virtually every recipe is designed for 4 or more people.  Every other day of the year, I find that a bit annoying, but on Thanksgiving, I don’t mind a bit.  Leftovers?  Yes, please!

Ironically enough when we have people over, preparation seems to be a three-ring circus with at least 1 out of 4 dishes ending in burned edges.  When it was just the two of us, it seemed to go off without a hitch.  I kept waiting for SOMETHING to go wrong.  Something to be forgotten.  But, wouldn’t you know.  The one time we didn’t have guests to entertain or impress, everything was planned and executed right on time.

Some highlights:

Million Dollar Turkey: Brined per Alton Brown’s direction and gravy prepared ahead of time courtesy of Noble Pig.  The prepared gravy made my life so much easier that I won’t go back to preparing it the day of.

Side note: We’ve been using Alton’s brine since moving here and I don’t know if it’s the brine or the turkeys they sell (called million dollar turkeys because I have to mortgage my rental apartment to afford this 4.5 kg whopper) but each year the turkey has been amazing.

Cranberry Sauce:  To be added to the list of things I thought I hated only because the only version I ever tasted came out of can.  Courtesy of the ex-pat community, bags of cranberries magically appear in Switzerland around Thanksgiving.

1 cup water+1 cup sugar+1 bag cranberries+1 tbsp cointreau+1 tsp lemon zest=cranberry sauce goodness.

And the cauliflower gratin and brown sugar pumpkin pie were good enough, that I’ll do separate posts with recipes a bit later.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

