Skip to content

pumpkin puree

October 15, 2009

It’s that time of the year.  Leaves are changing, the air smells like winter and the days are getting shorter.  For as much as I love fall, I can’t help but think that the snow on the mountain tops will soon be the snow on my doorstep in just a few weeks.  But what better way to enjoy the fall weather that we have than to make as many things pumpkin as possible.

I feel rather stupid for having turned away from pumpkin recipes in the past for lack of easy access to canned pumpkin puree.  Everytime I would read a recipe that called for a 1 cp canned pumpkins I thought “Damn!  Foiled again. On to the next one”.  Until I woke up one day with a little more common sense than I’m normally graced with.  Could one of these here pumpkins be my pumpkin puree?  40 minutes later with very little effort, I had my own beautiful baggie full of pumpkin puree.  Now it’s just a matter of picking one of the many recipes that have piled up!

Gourds Pumpkin puree

Ingredients:
1 pumpkin (or many pumpkins)

Directions:
1.  Cut up pumpkin into “manageable” slices.  I had a small one, so six pieces was plenty.  Just try to make them as even as possible so that  they cook evenly
2.  Remove pumpkin seeds (and save them to make pepitos later!!)
3.  Place in a 350 degree oven for 40 minutes or until fork tender
4. Remove from oven and let cool for 10 minutes or so.
5.  Remove skin (or shell, whatever is on the outside of a pumpkin) . This should come off very easily.
6.  Throw in a food processor and puree.
7.  Bob’s your uncle!  You have pumpkin puree!

Tip: With a paring knife, cut slits into the gourd/pumpkin/squash for faster cooking.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

