Skip to content

throwback to Brooklyn–bagels abroad

September 23, 2009

Right after college, I moved to Brooklyn to work in Manhattan.  Given that my job kept me at work for anywhere between 12-18 hours a day, weekends were sacred.  In the fall when the weather turned cooler, bacon, egg, and cheese bagels were always a nice treat.  Like many things that were readily available in New York and few other places, it never occurred to me to be grateful for them then.  Fast forward 10 years, I live in Switzerland and my B.E.C. bagel dreams are further from reality than ever.  That is until I saw this post.

Please note:  I have never cooked bread.  Not the 5-minute bread, not focaccia.  Nada.  Why I thought bagels would be a perfect entry point for me is beyond me.  But I did.  A trip to the reformhaus brought malt extract into my life and I thought it was a sign from the weekend brunch gods that it was time.  Time to make the bagels.

Bagels

Rather than recreate the entire recipe right here, please refer to Smitten Kitchen‘s recipe as I followed her notes and descriptions to a T…well, almost.  I used bread flour and remembered the malt extract.   I even, per her notes, added some malt extract to the boiling water with the baking soda.   We stuck with just sesame seeds, but the possibilities now seem endless.

The  result?  Crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside.  These bagels were lovely and the ensuing breakfast sandwich was a nice Sunday morning treat.  They weren’t the big, fat, round bagels that I imagined, but for my first go at bagel baking, I’ll take it!

Now what to do with the 14 bagels left over?

Leave a Reply

