Skip to content

meatless monday: roasted tomatoes

March 5, 2012

Let’s start this Monday off with a little game of two truths and a lie. Guess which of these is my lie.

  1. Courtesy of a nasty case of jet lag, I’m a walking zombie today. Staring at my bedroom ceiling at 3:45 in the morning is not a good way to start off the week.
  2. Despite said jet lag, I’m still a-glow from one helluva vacation.
  3. I’m not even remotely upset to be back in winter weather after basking in 2 weeks of summer glow.

Tough one to spot, I know. So, while I would normally consider this a slacker post, my standards are a tad lower until I get back into the swing of reality and it seems only appropriate to post about tomatoes. We aren’t going to see beautiful ripe tomatoes for months around here, but having enjoyed amazing summer foods in Australia, I’m craving more.

It wasn’t until late last summer that I discovered the beauty of roasted tomatoes. In fact, Mr. KC and I have been surviving on remnants of roasted tomatoes that I canned at the end of the summer. But you don’t need summer tomatoes to make this. Roasting is the perfect way to bring out the best of the less-than-perfect tomatoes of winter.

roasted tomatoes

ingredients

  • tomatoes
  • olive oil
  • coarse salt
  • basil
  • garlic

directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Chop tomatoes into uniform pieces. For reference, I would generally quarter my roma tomatoes or halve cherry tomatoes (you could even leave those whole if you wanted)
  3. Lay out tomato pieces in a uniform layer on a roasting pan and coat with a healthy drizzle of olive oil.
  4. Sprinkle on coarse salt, add basil leaves and whole garlic cloves (you don’t even need to peel these)
  5. Roast in oven for about 25 minutes at which point, check in on these to see how they’re doing. You want them to look like they are on their way to being sun-dried tomatoes. I generally take mine out around 35-40 minutes, but like to start checking in on them earlier to avoid over-charring them.
  6. When ready, remove from oven and use as a side or topping for pasta (great with fresh mozzarella and some shredded fresh basil and arugula) or for whatever you would normally use tomatoes.
  7. Most importantly: make sure you don’t ditch those lovely roasted garlic cloves. They should be golden and soft. Mash them up with some butter and salt and you have the ideal topping for bread.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

