Skip to content

meatless monday: tomato ricotta tart

May 24, 2010

Once upon a time, I used to buy kitschy souvenirs that would eventually see only the inside of a box.  Now, when I go on vacation or any trip for that matter, I love shopping for fun or quirky pieces for our kitchen or home.  Something with everyday use that will remind me of that trip. Or Christmas ornaments.  Every country I’ve visited is represented on our Christmas tree in some way, shape or form.  It makes decorating our tree all the more fun when we pick up an ornament and say “Aw, Cambodia, remember when…”.

On my  recent trip to Sydney, I was spoiled for choice and ended up getting some of my favorite pieces to date.  A friend of mine brought me to Object, a craft and design center in Surry Hills.  Its tiny store is filled to the brim with beautiful pieces that you desperately want to bring home.  Convincing myself that most of these would inevitably become gifts for other people (doubtful), I brought home two beautiful white porcelain cups that now serve as bud vases and an oil pourer.  That’s right an oil pourer.  A squat, handmade, adorable oil pourer.  It’s amazing how quickly I can convince myself that my life would be incomplete without it.

My new favorite book

Later that day, we wandered into a kitchen shop that was almost the end of me and I left with a cookbook that has solidified my celebrity chef crush,  Bill Granger’s Sydney Food.  I was in a Sydney for crying out loud, of course I needed to buy it.  It would be irresponsible not to buy it.  I love the cookbook so much that I’ve already made three recipes from it.  I love Bill’s cooking so much that I’ve decided I need to add a “bill” tag as you are going to see a lot of his recipes here.  So, not surprisingly, this meatless monday is brought to you by none other than Mr. Bill Granger.

tomato ricotta tart
from Bill’s Sydney Food

ingredients

  • 2 medium ripe tomatoes, finely sliced
  • 2 cups ricotta
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 50ml or 1/4 cup cream
  • ¼ cup finely grated Parmesan
  • 1 cup chopped arugula (or more, there’s always room for more greens)
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped parsley
  • homemade or pre-made flaky crust (I cheated and used premade–it was a Monday, after all)
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • Pinch of ground nutmeg

directions

  1. Layout your pastry dough on a baking sheet covered in parchment paper.
  2. In a medium bowl, mix together ricotta, eggs, cream, parmasean and season with black pepper, salt and pinch of nutmeg.
  3. Fold in 1 cup of arugula.  I ended up using a bit more as I wanted there to be a bit more veg.  Feel free to also substitute for other things.  Spinach would be lovely as would kale, I imagine.
  4. Once uniformly mixed, pour cream and cheese mixture into the middle of the dough.  Make sure to leave about a 5cm or 2 inch border of dough around the filling.
  5. Once spread evenly, fold the dough up and over of the filling edge to create a crust.  By doing it one bit at a time it creates nice, neat little folds in the dough.
  6. Now, layer the thinly sliced tomatoes over the cheese mixture.  Since the tomatoes shrink up a bit in the oven, I recommend overlapping quite a bit so that you have good coverage.
  7. Using a pastry brush, brush egg yolk over the dough to make a nice glazed finish.
  8. Grate a little more Parmesan over the tart (for good luck).
  9. Finally, sprinkle on chopped parsley.
  10. Place in an oven pre-heated to 400°F/200°C for 35-40 minutes (or until crust is golden and middle is set).
  11. Allow to rest for about 15 minutes before chowing down.

This recipe is great warm and even better at room temperature.  Makes for a perfect picnic food now that the weather is warming up.  Also, allows for a whole lot of experimenting.  Next time around, I may use spinach and gruyère in the middle and layer thinly sliced zucchini on top with a sprinkling of thyme or rosemary.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2010 12:44 am

    Now this is giving me incentive to dig out my Bill Grainger book. I think I’ve made like 3 recipes so far only. This looks simply gorgeous.

    • May 26, 2010 6:56 am

      You should! I’m posting yet another one today that I can’t recommend enough for a weekend brunch. It’s a staple on his menu at Bills in Sydney and was a big success in the KC household.

  2. May 26, 2010 4:12 am

    I am always seduced by cookbooks or kitchen items while I’m traveling. Oh and herbs and spices. Those are the end of me. This seems like a seriously worthy buy if it spawned this recipe! Looks delicious.

    • May 26, 2010 6:54 am

      Completely agree on the herbs and spices, but I always get nervous about customs (I’m weird that way). I once almost found myself in a pickle coming back to the U.S. from Costa Rica because I declared I had visited a farm and was carrying seeds/foods/plants with me. All this simply because I had been to a banana plantation and was bringing back some peppercorns. I’ve loosened up a bit since then :)

      I can’t recommend his book enough. We’re eating our way through it slowly but surely and I have’t had a single disappointment.

  3. May 26, 2010 4:54 am

    Looks like perfection. Love it I can’t wait to get some fresh tomatoes from my backyard. This is such a tease.

    • May 26, 2010 6:50 am

      You’ll have to let me know how it goes. I can’t wait to make it again and play around with the fillings. Enjoy!

  4. July 14, 2011 11:57 pm

    This looks amazing- I cant wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

