Skip to content

chocolate dipped macaroons

October 28, 2009

The other day I found myself with an abundance of egg whites.  This was a direct result of me trying to recreate what was one of the best desserts I’ve had in a long while at a wonderful restaurant in Chicago, Mado (that’s a story for another post).   After thinking for awhile about what I could do with these, I also remembered that I conveniently had a ton of coconut that I had purchased for yet another unrealized recipe.   Now, we were getting somewhere…

I immediately started looking for recipes for macaroons when I found one from David Lebovitz that not only “ticked the boxes” for the macaroons, but also employed the use of an open Green & Black dark chocolate bar that I had lying about.  Clearly the fates had spoken, chocolate dipped macaroons it was.

Chocolate dipped macaroons

adapted from David Lebovitz’s recipe
makes 25-30 Cookies

Ingredients
4 large egg whites
1¼ cups sugar
¼ teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon honey
2½ cups unsweetened coconut
¼ cup flour
½ teaspoon vanilla extract
2 ounces bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, chopped

Directions:
1.  In a large skillet, mix together the egg whites, sugar, salt, honey, coconut and flour.

2.  Heat over low-to-moderate heat on the stovetop, stirring constantly, scraping the bottom as you stir.

3.  When the mixture just begins to scorch at the bottom, remove from heat and stir in the vanilla.  Transfer to a bowl to cool to room temperature.  This can be left in the refrigerator for up to one week, frozen for up to two months.  If, of course, you can wait that long for chocolatey, coconutty goodness.

4.  When ready to bake, line a baking sheet with parchment paper and preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

5.  Form the dough into 1 1/2-inch mounds with your fingers evenly spaced on the baking sheet.  I used a soup spoon to eye even scooping.

6.  Bake for 18-20 minutes, until deep golden brown. Cool completely.  Note:  I set my timer for 15 minutes just to check in one them given that I wasn’t entirely sure that I had made 1 1/2 inch mounds.  The total cooking time ended up at 18 minutes on the dot.

For the chocolate bottoms:
To dip the macaroons in chocolate, melt the chocolate in a clean, dry bowl set over a pan of simmering water (or in a microwave.) Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Dip the bottoms of each cookie in the chocolate and set the cookies on the baking sheet. Refrigerate 5-10 minutes, until the chocolate is set.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 126 other followers

